A fun day

Beautiful weather here on the island today. Our oldest son Mike is up from UVic for the weekend and it’s great to have him home. We did a family trip out to our friend’s cheese factory – BoMé Cheese in Coombs for their grand opening today. Horst and Bibi and their son Jonas have worked for a long time to get things rolling and put out some really delicious stuff. If you’re ever going through Coombs, stop in for a visit.

When we got back from our roadtrip I started working on a quick project for Mike. I’ve had a piece of rusted chain that my pal Norm dropped off a while back and I thought it would work for an Industrial style table lamp. I thought I’d practise on Mike and if it turned out okay I have enough for another one.

I started out by tacking the chain together for the lamp stand and then cut apart a piece of 3/8 plate that my friend Scott pulled out of his scrap pile for me.

It was 8×8 and had some posts welded on to the bottom side so I split it in half with my plasma cutter and bucked off the posts. I did a really rough cut and roughed up the uncut sides to make it look a little more “scrappy” then drilled a hole for the cord, cleaned it up a bit and ground down where the posts had been. I tacked some nuts on the back side as feet, kind of cleaned it up and it was ready to go.

I welded the chain to the base plate, sprayed a coat of lacquer on on it and voila, ready to wire up.

P_20160305_151211_LL (1)

I wired it up with a standard lamp plug and put in an Edison style bulb. I sprayed the bulb socket with Tremclad Hammered finish and it looks pretty darn good.

All in all a pretty good day. Got a project completed, had a warm sunny day, ate some good cheese and tomorrow’s another day. Forecast is calling for more rain, but hey it’s Vancouver Island. Get used to it or move!!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

