Lots of things happened on the weekend

I started out this weekend thinking I was just going to ease in to this retirement thing and by Sunday night I realized that I ended up pretty busy. Going to have to start pacing myself. It all started out with a project for Heather. A little while ago I built an industrial style table lamp for my son out of some scrap steel and chain that I had been given. It turns out that Heather liked it so much she wanted one for us as well (and she does love lamps, believe me!!). I had enough leftover, so started putting it together on Friday. Saturday  I spent the day finishing it up and it looks really nice as an accent lamp on the antique liquor cart in our dining room.  It’s a little taller than the first one I made so could probably go with a a bigger bulb (currently a 40W) if we want it for more light but right now it’s perfect (according to my sweetie).

P_20160403_082723

The rest of Saturday was taken up with messing around in the garden and continuing what is probably the never ending job of organizing the shop. I had also been emailing back and forth with my pal Gord (who happens to have a really nice woodworking shop at his place in Parksville) to get some boards run through his thickness planer. For the life of me I couldn’t remember what they actually were (yes they’ve been hanging around that long)  but thought if I got them prepped and ready to go I might come up with a great idea. We scheduled my visit for Sunday so I loaded the boards up mid morning and headed off to get them dealt with.

They turned out great! I think the thinner boards are cherry? I could definitely be wrong so let me know.  Not sure what I want to do with them yet but the wood looks really nice so I’ll use them for something. The thicker slab I want to do a kind of live edge sofa table or entry table which I think would look really cool. Now I just have to dream up the base for it. Gord also gave me some smaller pieces of what I think are Aromatic Red Cedar. Not quite sure what I’ll do with them as well but I think I have an idea. I’ll just let it wander around inside my head for a while and eventually it’ll come out.

P_20160403_152023

And to cap off the weekend Matt and I worked on finishing up his forge and I put my wall hanging together. I have to put some mounting pieces on the back and clearcoat it but other than that, number 1 is done! Heather came out to see the finished product and gave it a big thumbs up. I had envisioned hanging the pieces vertically while she had envisioned hanging them horizontally (inside lane, outside lane – long story for a different time). I think she’s right and as my designated style consultant I defer to her knowledge and eye. I’ll add more pictures when I get it done done.

And that was my first weekend of retirement. Two things I learned this weekend…. Pace yourself, you’ve got lots of time and… Pace yourself, you’ve got lots of time. Now I know that technically that’s only one thing,  but you get it.

 

Leave a Reply

