The Tale of the Workbench

My workbench for “general stuff” is a salvaged counter unit that was repurposed when we reno’d our kitchen a couple of years ago. It’s a pretty good little workspace when it’s cleaned up, but, well… It isn’t right now and hasn’t been for a while. I won’t bore you with how it got that way, but just know I’m not the kind of guy who lets his dishes pile up in the sink either. Of course that may be more due to Heather’s influence than a general personality trait of mine but I do like to clean up after myself. So what’s the problem here? Well in the past I guess it’s mostly been time and the fact that it’s a convenient place to dump stuff. Oh, and the fact that I like to keep scraps of stuff “just in case”. It’s still a convenient place to dump stuff, but I do have the time to clean it and add to that my son Matt bugging me because he wants to use the bench for grinding knives and I guess I’ll get started.

P_20160411_085053
Doesn’t look too bad in this picture

A big part of the workbench has been taken up by my bench grinder and vise which will move off shortly. I have 2 bench grinders (doesn’t everyone have at least 2). One that I have set up for sharpening my turning and woodworking tools and an old one of my dad’s that I use for general grinding.

It’s not just the benchtop, it’s the workspace. I have a small area so I need to make it more functional. The plan is that once I get it back to useable space I can keep it useable.

It’s supposed to be a rainy-ish day today so I’ll grab a coffee and see how it goes. It’s another work in progress but I’ve got the time.

Okay, so the day didn’t quite go as according to plan but I did get the bench top sorted out and useable. Matt should be happy when he gets home. Big thumbs up!

image

Leave a Reply

