The hardest part

I find that the hardest part for me when I have an idea of what I want to build is putting it on paper. I have learned that for some projects I need to do this and I really have to think it through. I’m more comfortable working with scrap pieces and throwing things together off the top of my head. It makes it easier to say “I meant to do that” when you actually have just screwed up and have to make a change mid-project. It’s good to work outside your comfort zone though, right?

So what am I slapping together?…. Er… designing? I think it is going to be a sofa table. I have live edged piece of ?? that’s about 8 inches wide by 34 inches long.

wp-1461548630189.jpeg

I pulled out my pad and pencil and put a quick design together to give me an idea of what I needed. I decided I’d use some 1×3 inch 1/8  rectangular tubing for the legs and a piece of 1 inch square tubing to tie the legs together. I’m thinking about maybe putting a design of some sort on the legs. Not sure what but I don’t have to decide right now.

wp-1461546762771.jpeg

Once I had it roughly sketched out and figured out how much stock I needed, I headed down to the nearest  Metal Supermarkets outlet in Nanaimo. I normally get my steel at Demxx in Errington, but they don’t stock the 1×3 so off to Nanaimo I went. First time I’ve dealt with them. They had what I needed, the price was right and they were great to deal with. I’ll go back.

wp-1461546757051.jpeg

Now I guess I’ve got to do something with the steel. I have a brand new blade in the Rage III saw that I use for my metal cutting so I think I’ll get started on it tomorrow. The big question is do we need a sofa table? The short answer is no, but Heather says I can build it anyway. We’ll figure it out 🙂

Stay tuned for more as things progress.

 

Leave a Reply

