A busy week.

This past week was a busy one here in QB. I got the new master cylinder in the beetle and by Friday had the brake system bled, had it insured and Tito was on the road again. I haven’t put a master cylinder in before, but it was pretty straight forward.

Big tip for any VW owners if you don’t already know it, there is a spacer for the mounting bolts on the firewall that needs to be between the double wall of the firewall when installing/replacing the master cylinder. I looked at a bunch of Youtube videos and only one mentioned it and they really need to be there to have the master cylinder mount correctly. I’m wondering if many of the issues I came across on the web about guys having problems with the push rod length are related to that. Not having the spacers in there could definitely effect it I think. Just a thought. I didn’t bench bleed the master cylinder  as some do but I did do a full flush of the brake fluid. It now is as clear as spring water. 🙂 My sister Kathy provided the brake pumping action and bleeding went smoothly. Brakes are now solid and I have no fear of being an accident waiting to happen.

wp-1465227239061.jpeg
Tito on the road again!

My apologies. I was planning on having  pictures of the process but just got so darned excited about getting Tito on the road that I forgot. So I now declare it to officially be summer here on the island!!

It was also Prom weekend for Matthew and the pre Prom pictures were going to be taken in our yard, so some serious clean up had to be dealt with. Not that the yard was in bad shape, just that it needed the equivalent of a shave and a shoe shine. So that meant taking care of the lawns, doing some judicious pruning and getting the flower baskets good to go.

A lot of work, but worth it. We got loads of pictures of Matt and his Caitlin at various spots and they looked spectacular.

matt and caitlin

Then it was off to the parade to the Civic Centre and the gala evening. A lot of work goes into this event for the grads. There’s a parade from Kwalikum Secondary School to the Civic Centre and the whole town turns out to see the grads roll through town. Matt and Caitlin, along with his best bud Isaac and his date arrived by golf cart.  Matt works at the Qualicum Memorial Golf Course so it was kind of fitting. I did say he could take the Beetle, but with Matt at 6’3″ and Isaac not much shorter, not to mention a date in a long gown, it wasn’t  really an option. It was really great to see all of the kids. Well, not kids anymore really. I can’t believe it’s been 18 years. Time does fly.

Arrival
A stylish arrival

So Tito is on the road, prom is done and it’s time to get back to doing other stuff. I have a pile of scrap pieces that need to be turned into something. Not sure what, but I’ll figure something out. I’m kind of glad this past week has been busy with other things. It’s been record breaking heat here on the island so a tad warm to be in the shop welding I think.

 

Leave a Reply

