Firebrick forge v1.0

The firebrick forge project started about a week ago. I bought some soft firebrick for the guts of it at our Vancouver Island Potters’ Supply in Parksville and then I headed up to Demxx (where else) for some pieces of steel to round out the stock I already had on hand to make the frame for the forge.

I started out by stacking the blocks to get an idea of how this thing should go together and then pulled out some of my 2 inch by 1/8 angle iron and cut some pieces for the frame. I cut some 3 inch by 3/16 flat stock for end pieces on the lower frame and tacked and welded it together.

With the base completed I turned to struts that would be used to hold the contraption together. I cut 4 pieces of 2 inch by 3/16 flat bar and then drilled some holes for the ready rod. For the base struts I tapped the holes to accept some 3/8 threaded rod and then drilled out the top stuts to allow the threaded rod to slide through. After the struts were drilled and ready to go I grabbed a piece of inch and a half pipe and cut off 4 short pieces to use as legs for the frame and also cut off a longer section to use as a holder for the gas nozzle.

I cut down a piece of 6 inch by 3/8 flat stock to use as a base for the nozzle holder and drilled a 1 5/8  hole using my drill press to fit it into.  I drilled and tapped 3 holes about 1 inch down from the nozzle holder to insert screws to secure the nozzle and was ready to put it all together and tack and weld everything in place.

Before I did that though I ran my 1 inch hole saw centered through the the top fire bricks and we were good to go.

p_20160725_123848.jpg

After I assembled it all and made sure the rods and struts were aligned properly I tacked the struts into place. Once that was done I tacked the nozzle holder into place and tacked the base to upper frame. Having taken care of all the tacks, I finished welding it up and we were ready to go.

 

p_20160726_171930.jpg
Finished!!

Okay, so I haven’t welded the feet on yet but I have to take it all apart to weld the feet on and we really wanted to try it out so of course we carted it outside, hooked it up and gave it a whirl. It heated up a railroad spike nicely and Matt got a chance to pound on it. Note the section of railroad track he’s pounding it on. Anvil coming!! We do need some proper blacksmithing tongs. Maybe that’s the first project? Like how hard could it be, right? 🙂

And how much did it cost in total? About $80 for the firebrick and less than $10 for the additional steel I needed. So for under $100 we’re good to go. Now to let the mind wander.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

