Projects need to be finished

Confession time once again.

I am sometimes guilty of starting something and leaving it partially finished. Sometimes it’s because I think it’s “good enough”. Sometimes I need components to finish it off and haven’t gotten around to getting everything I need. Sometimes I don’t really know how I want to finish it off and sometimes I just get sidetracked and forget about it.

I decided yesterday that before I started anything else I would finish a couple of things on my plate. I was in such a rush to try out the forge the other day that I didn’t put the feet on and get it painted. So that was my first job yesterday. I welded the legs on, then cleaned the frame and painted it with hight temp flat black. Looks pretty good now.

p_20160729_134621.jpg
Legs on, all painted and ready to put back together
p_20160730_175212.jpg
Forge completed

The next project to finish up was my tabletop (or wall hanging – at the time, undecided) made of tools.

wp-1463355488041.jpeg

Heather and I had chatted  about what I should do with it and decided it would make a good patio table. I picked up some 1 inch tubing for the legs a while back but at the time forgot to pick up the angle iron I needed for bracing, so the top kind of hung around in the laundry room taunting me. Yesterday I thought that since I had the tubing I’d at least get the legs dealt with and that would probably spur me on. I cut the tubing to length, got everything square and tacked all the legs in place.

p_20160729_134220.jpg

Today my son Mike and I roadtripped to Demxx to get the angle iron I needed for the rest of the frame and I got to work. I decided that I wanted to have a shelf of some sort so I cut the angle iron to length and tacked the pieces in place.

p_20160730_144355.jpg

Once I got everything tacked together, I finished welding the legs and shelf frame and then had to decide what I was going to use for the lower shelf.

p_20160730_152253.jpg

I thought about used some of the expanded (grate style) steel sheeting I had but remembered that I had scrounged some nice clear fir boards a week ago that might work well. I think they were interior trim of some sort originally so they were already varathaned and looked pretty good. I hauled out the table saw and cut them to size. Voila – finished another one.

p_20160730_173219.jpg
Soon to be not a patio table..

I called Heather out to see the finished product and she told me it was too nice to put outside. 🙂

Into the spare room it goes and I guess I need to make another patio table.

Now technically it isn’t totally finished because I need to track down a piece of glass to put on the top, but that’s not a technical issue it’s a logistical issue I figure.

I want to concentrate on playing with the forge next. I’ve got my big chunk of railroad track so I guess my anvil is on the schedule now. After that I suppose I’ll have to figure out how to make some tongs. I mean I did pick up a piece of 3/4 square stock today.

And my battle cry rings out! “How hard can it be?”

 

Leave a Reply

