Today’s big project

Way back when I first got my plasma cutter, Tina asked me to make her a sign that said “If It’s Not Fun I’m Not Doing It!”. So I did.

cropped-img_0104.jpg

I was close to retirement at the time and thought that was a great mantra to take into retirement with me. So I did. I’ve been working on wood and metal projects that I want to do and enjoying the heck out of the things that I do in my shop.  Today I took some of my recent “Norm” provided pieces and went big time. I made a sign to hang in my work area.

I started with a slab of cedar and the old saw blade and thought that might work as a background. I fired up the plasma cutter and cut out the letters IINFINDI (If It’s Not Fun I’m Not Doing It)

p_20161003_104804.jpgp_20161003_110455.jpg

I wanted the lettering to stand off the saw blade, so I cut some 1 1/2 inch pieces of 1/4 inch threaded rod I had lying around and welded them on to the back side of the letters as stand offs. Once the letters were complete I drilled holes in the saw blade for the stand offs and welded the stand off through the back side. That rusty old saw was still hard as F%&@& so my cobalt bit took a bit of a beating.

p_20161003_113627.jpg
Letters ready for stand offs
p_20161003_122953.jpg
Letters ready to weld on

After the letters were all welded up I flipped the blade over and welded on some 3/8 bolts to mount it to the cedar slab.

p_20161003_183326.jpg

All that was left after that was to drill some holes to put the mounting bolts through, throw a coat of lacquer on the blade and some boiled linseed oil on the cedar and stick it all together.

p_20161003_191649.jpg
Finished sign

Relative to the size of my shop this sign is pretty big. Make that very big. Oh well. It will be a very visible reminder of what I want to be doing.

Leave a Reply

