Organization is the key

I know it, I really do. But I have a problem. I get working on something, move onto something else and then eventually find that because my actual work station is fairly small I grab the stuff that I’m not using and throw it up on my workbench resulting in… Well you see the results. But I have a plan!!! It’s a new year and I’m trying to get in a new mindset. My new plan is to get the tools I use frequently easy to access and easy to put away. I also plan to create a new space to do my planning and smaller work so that I don’t do all my layout and design work and smaller projects  where I do my welding and bigger metal projects.

First step is completed. I built a rack for hanging my clamps. I started with some 1 1/2 inch square stock that I notched out for hanging my vise grip style clamps and added a piece of square stock to use for hanging my other clamps then welded the arms to a piece of 2 1/2 inch x 1/8 plate that I drilled and fastened to the wall above my welding cart.

wp-1483229728044.jpg

wp-1483229738516.jpg

Easy access to my clamps is now available right where I need them.

wp-1483229745335.jpg
Clamp rack mounted and ready to go
wp-1483229761532.jpg
Lots of room for more clamps as I dig them out. Ignore the mess on the shelf above

I’m going to start on the next steps of my organizational rehab tomorrow. I’m going to pull everything off the shop workbench, put it in a tote and sort it all out. Baby steps.

Was this a New Years resolution? Nope. It was just me getting fed up.

Leave a Reply

