Why not give it a try

Not sure if I have the guts/skill/space/artistic sense to pull this one off. So why not give it a try, right? When we were down in Utah visting Mike and Patty this fall Mike said they might like me to make them something for their little courtyard/entrance of their place in Seattle. I took some pictures of the area on our way back home and just kind of sat with it for a while to see if something would come to me.

 

wp-1488069526159.jpg
entry area

I did have an idea but it wasn’t fully fleshed out and today as I sat by the fire and listened to some music I grabbed my sketch pad and doodled. I don’t know if they’re thinking big or small but my idea is a tallish Bull Kelp sculpture with the bases of the kelp stalks anchored to a piece of stone.

wp-1488069596060.jpg

I’m not sure of the height but I’m thinking roughly 5 feet tall. Right now the picture is in my head (and now on the paper) but I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to get from there to reality. I have a basic sense of what I figure will work but it will all come down to the execution. I guess it always does. Might work, might not. I guess we’ll find out.

And once again I’ll be stretching the limits of what I can (or think I can) do and that’s a good thing. Keeps me on my toes.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mikeazariah says:

    If you made a sleek ovoid about 1/3 up curving about it then you would have a seal or otter, stay abstract with it to simulate movement over detail

    m

    Like

    1. bobdobqb says:

      Hmmm. Thanks for the idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

