In Between Times

I like to keep myself busy. In between all my regular projects and house stuff and everything else going on I like to fill in time. Sometimes it’ll be reading a book or having a nap but sometimes I like to just fool around with new things. This recent adventure is a good example of a time filler. My friend Norm dropped me off a bunch of short chunks of  copper cable from a high voltage line that had been replaced where he works.  The pieces were about 12 to 24 inches long  and when I started stripping the casing off found a motherload of 10 gauge copper wire inside.

P_20170411_081035_vHDR_Auto

With the copper stripped and the strands separated it was time to come up with an idea of what to do with the copper wire.

P_20170329_174110_vHDR_Auto
Some of the wire seperated and ready to be used.

Heather said she had seen some neat looking hammered copper pendants on the internet so I got to work. I heated and hammered and twisted and finally came up with something I liked.

P_20170329_150200_vHDR_Auto

More importantly Heather liked it. 🙂

And to just get the technique down I made 2 more. We’ve had Bianca and Zoe visiting from Hong Kong for the last 10 days so I  made a pendant for each of them as a going away gift.

P_20170411_193045_vHDR_Auto

So now I have a little something extra to do when I feel the need to fill in some time. I’ve made a couple of variations on the initial heart theme and I’m branching out to other designs.

Always good to keep the creative juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

